Introducing The Heart Desires Store & Design Team!

Hello everyone!  It is spring and there is so much to celebrate!

Welcome to a doubly special event!

tonya2

Today we celebrate not only the Spring Coffee Lovers Hop, but also the opening of my friend Tonya’s store, The Heart Desires and our design team reveal!

I am so excited for Tonya as she embarks on this journey and I hope you will share in the excitement as well by hopping along with the design team and then hopping over to her store to find some sweet products for your planners and paper-crafting!  Tonya will be curating high-quality products that she recommends in a boutique-style shop.  For our hop, we are featuring some of her current products and/or Hero Arts company products.

For all you coffee lovers, she has some fabulous finds for your next coffee inspired project–stamps, stencils, inks, and great embellishments!  Here are few of my favorites.  Click any image My links aren’t working, so click here to be taken to Tonya’s shop to purchase:

Coffee Ring Stencil
One of my favorite stencils in my collection! The Crafters Workshop

 

Dress It Up Embellishments Button Fun Coffee Talk
These are new to me and I love them!  A good coffee embellishment can be hard to find!

 

Ombre Soft Brown to Cup O' Joe
Cup O’Joe Brown Ombre? Yes, please!!

 

 

Carpe Diem Word Label Stickers
I love Simple Stories for my scrapbooking; their word/phrase stickers are seriously the best, and you get so many for the price!

 

Coffee & Donuts
Can’t go wrong with Kelly Purkey for on-trend and witty fun supplies.
Tim Holtz Distress Watercolor Cardstock
This is my favorite watercolor and layering paper.  The texture and bright white are just perfect.  I have featured it below in my second card.

 

 

 

Ombre Neon Red to Purple
Hero Arts Neon Inks are my favorite for delightful, rich, retro neon.  A child of the 80’s, how could I not love them?

Today, I am featuring couple cards to celebrate Tonya’s store opening and the Spring Coffee Lovers Hop!

First up, my tropical twist on the coffee plant!

20160321_132400

 

coffea_arabica_botanical_drawing1

So here is a lovely picture of a coffee plant. In my modern twist, neon colors and bold black take center stage.  The flower and berry stem is from Julie Ebersole’s Wild Garden set.

The leafy stem has been cut from one of the most beautiful coffee bags I have ever seen (the coffee was pretty fine, too!).  I love single origin coffees and exploring small roasters.  We are pretty lucky here in the PNW to have some amazing roasters–Heart, Coava, Courier, Case Study, Seattle Coffee Works, Elm Roasters, and Slate to name a few.  In Seattle, we are also finally catching up with other progressive cities and our coffee shops are offering some wonderful roasters from all over the US.  Here is a photo of the actual bag: img_20160222_085111.jpg

Isn’t that lovely?  I have cut out the entire bag and have a few other up-cycled projects in the works!

 

 

 

 

20160321_130627

 

TECHNIQUE:
For the flower, I embossed a Hero Arts background stamp onto cardstock with clear Versafine embossing ink and covered it with clear embossing powder.

Then I sponged Hero Arts Neon pink ink over the embossing.  You can see some of the sheen of the clear embossing on top of the flower.

20160321_130731The sentiment is from an older Kelly Purkey collection.  She has partnered with Hero Arts and has some fantastic product for planners, scrapbooking, and card making which Tonya is featuring in her store.  Below are a few of the featured Hero Arts products (the whimsical leaf is actually from Penny Black, but I’ve had it so long, I thought it was a Hero Arts die!  Hence, its appearance alongside the other products!)

You can view more of my coffee-inspired projects here!


Next Up: Terrarium Love

Hero Arts offers up the best of the papercrafting trends like succulents and pineapples as of late!  My next card features HA succulent garden stamps, their terrarium die cut from Jen Hadfield gold paper and birch wood paper, Distress Ink watercoloring on Ranger watercolor paper, Studio Calico sentiment, and all digital papers from The Lilypad and The Digital Press.

img_20160320_183143.jpg

The inside washi is from Stampin’ Up, which Tonya also sells! I love the play of coral against the blues and ripe green.

20160320_182357

Okay, now it’s time for you to hop along to the rest of the design team’s pages for some more inspiration!

THE HEART DESIRES Design Team

Amy Tsuruta 

Kathryn Lorenzini  (You are here!)

Katie Brooks

Kimberly Wiener

Lenae Daly

Toni M Maddox

Tonya Jastad  Owner

GIVEAWAY!

the heart desires

But before you go, don’t forget to leave a comment because we will be randomly selecting a winner of a $10 gift certificate to The Heart Desires store.

The giveaway will run through Sunday night, 3/27, 11:59 pm pacific time for anyone who comments on this blog post. Winners will be announced on Monday night by 7pm Pacific time!

Thanks so much for stopping by!

41 thoughts on “Introducing The Heart Desires Store & Design Team!

  1. Fabulous cards, Kathryn!! LOve the upcycling – one of my own favorite things to do. OH the choice of papers for your second card are fabulous! I’m off to hop, and shop!
    =]

  2. This has to be one of my most favorite cards ever! Those are my colors for reals! The black and white and hot pink is like my jam! Love

  3. Awesome cards! And now you’ve got me thinking to look at all the coffee bags I see and whether I could use them in this same beautiful way you did! You’re a genius!

  4. I thought I commented already (so please excuse the double one if I did! I must have been adding you to my Bloglovin’ feed and didn’t comment yet!) Your cards are amazing. Just amazing! Congratulations and looking forward to more of your creations.

  5. G’day Kate! Been a long time since I left you a comment and so I’ll keep it short! Love the excitement, love the hop, love the shop, love the blog. Totally love your coffee card, upcycle and neon, genious! Just to let you know we have coffee bushes growing in the backyard. I love them when they are in flower, pure white flowers against deep green leaves…absolutely gorgeous.

  6. oh wooooww
    I love love the first card of you and the technique you tell us
    clever one and I loovee HA product
    and the second card awesome too
    great made Kate
    your card all are adorable
    hugs
    Monika

  7. FABULOUS cards Kathryn!!!
    LOVE the FUN sentiment, PRETTY colours & design of your coffee card, LOVE the SWEET succulents, colours & layers of your hello card too!!!

  8. Kathryn your cards are stunning! I absolutely love your style and you. It is awesome that you are on the DT and I am honored to be able to call you my friend.

Thank you for your comments; they make my day!