Eggcellent Easter

Happy Thursday and welcome to another challenge at Fusion!

This week we have a colorful, fun image and a great sketch that has many possibilities!

Owls (1)

I went for a fusion of the two.  When I saw the image, I immediately thought of the latest release of Studio Calico Homespun Easter journal cards with their bright, primary colors.

SC-HOMESPUN-PRINTABLE-EASTER-PREVIEW

And as I started playing with the sketch, I realized that the diagonal could be turned into a peek-a-boo pocket for this little guy!

20160314_114651

Hello! Don’t you just love that little rabbit?  I enlarged and fussy cut him from the journal card, popped him into my die cut basket (from the now defunct Top Dog Dies), added a chipboard tie, and adhered to another of the journal cards from the collection.

The journal card can be turned over and written on and kept in a 3×4 scrapbook page.

20160314_115133

20160314_120531

I also enlarged the “Eggcelent” (which, aside from the witty invented spelling, is actually missing an additional ‘l’!  Whoops, Studio Calico!!).  I suppose since it’s a pun, it’s easy to look past the inaccuracy.  It’s been a week of finding editing issues in published work–the other two discoveries were within a popular curriculum that I, and many schools, use for teaching reading and writing– a little less excusable!

The “Easter” die is also from Studio Calico, and the background papers are from The Lilypad.  The inside is finished with some grass green washi.

 

I decided to CASE myself using some new Lilypad digital papers that reflect the weather we’ve been experiencing this wild March in Seattle!

20160316_140946

Maybe the sun will show its face today?

20160316_141034

Oh there he is!  But wait, it’s raining as well?!  Is that thunder I hear?  Look how swiftly the clouds move!

20160316_141337

Perhaps the sun is here to stay?  Or must we wait until April or May?

Alas, I suppose there is nothing we can do to stop the sun’s endless peek-a-boo!

20160316_141354

Are you inspired to join us this week?  Make sure to check out the design team’s creations and then be sure to link up by March 28th!

Thanks for joining me today! Here’s to Pi Day, the Ides of March, St. Patrick’s Day, and springing forward!  What a week!  Here’s a little Crowded House for you, “Everywhere you go, always take the weather with you!”

 

 

9 thoughts on “Eggcellent Easter

  1. Gorgeous cards – both so bright and happy – great embellishments and details – who doesnt love a pocket card? Love the Finn brothers too – great harmonies!

  2. Hi Kate,

    How FUN your card is – so much layered goodness all atop each other! Such pretty colors, bold and glitter, all things Eastery!

  3. Kate I am totally blown away by your creative mind, and your layers – aaccck!!! How do you do it??!!
    Fabulous papers – I WILL figure that out, and find a paper that is suitable. In the meantime, I’d be happy with these Studio Calico’s … typos and all! Truly most egg-cellent cards! I cannot leave without a question… what do you mean you ‘enlarged’ the bunny?
    =]

  4. Me again … blushing this time … just now read the word ‘digital’ on the Studio Calico paper … you must have a wonderful laser printer, yes?
    =] =]

Thank you for your comments; they make my day!