The Unbearable Lightness of Being

“Everything we choose in life for its lightness soon reveals its unbearable weight. We face the fear of unbearable weight….The residue of history: the printed page, the flicker of the image, always fragmentary, always saying something less than the weight of experience” (Richard Serra, quoted in A. and D. Lefferts, Richard Serra 2013, New York, 2014, p. 14).  Source: Christies

My latest piece certainly weighed on me, despite its ethereal lightness.  I couldn’t stop looking at the inspiration image from Runway Inspired Challenge–that fabric, that dress!–and feeling that nothing could quite do it justice in the form of paper, in the time I had.  Really the image had me re-measuring my dress form and stuffing its bra full of poly-fill so I could finally tackle bust alterations (but that’s another post for another time!).

umb9565

Despite the gorgeous floral pattern, I didn’t want to do flowers, but all my other ideas lay half-formed on my work table throughout the week–one which left my brain a bit gummy and my lids too heavy.  So flowers, or rather a flower, it was.

I’ve been altering and manipulating die cuts, though, for a few weeks and working with some 3-D and geometric patterns, so that worked its way into this piece, echoing the geometry in her dress.

I’ll let the piece speak for itself because try as I might the words are just not flowing tonight!

2015-02-13 10.37.31

2015-02-13 10.32.53 2015-02-13 10.32.37

The Lil’ Inker’s background die, Faceted, and card base are a lovely “Arctic Ice” blue watercolor paper that is decades old.  The sentiment and rose are both from Paper Smooches.

2015-02-13 10.38.29

The banner is a dark grey, and I loved how the frosted grey Co’ordinations paper looked atop it.  Subtle, and beautiful indeed!  It pulls in the grey of the lines and her belt.

2015-02-13 10.36.39

I watercolored some paper with varying shades of yellow and then cut numerous roses to attain a shading I liked along the outline.

2015-02-13 10.34.04

Here are a few views from the side and top.  I am really excited about this die; I have deconstructed it further and plan to manipulate it and Mod-Podge it for some other pieces.  I love its architectural nature–reminds me of Rem Koolhaas and Gehry’s work, both of whom have prominent buildings in Seattle–the Public Library and EMP respectvely.

2015-02-13 10.34.54 2015-02-13 10.35.27

I chose the background paper from DCDW to echo the diagonals on her dress.  Here are a few more images to leave you with.

Thanks for stopping by and make sure to head over to Runway Inspired Challenge where there’s always something to get your juices flowing!

UPDATE: Lil’ Inker Designs is having a monthly meet-up challenge over at their blog as a way to share projects designed with Lil’ Inkers’ products.  I just happened upon it today, and there are 9 days left to submit.  Lil’ Inker’s background dies are some of my absolute favorite, and Laura provides excellent customer service.  Head over and check them out!  There are prizes to be won!

And please check out my PORTFOLIO pages, which are a bit more thematic and image focused.  I have some new entries of holiday thank you cards, and more backlogged work to be added this coming week!

Have a beautiful Valentine’s weekend!

20 thoughts on “The Unbearable Lightness of Being

  1. One word is totally fitting… beautiful. To take that die and mould it = genius. And I wonder if flickr chose their name based on the quote you shared…

  2. Oh my goodness! This is so incredibly amazing I am at a loss for words. I can’t believe how beautifully this came together. Wow!! Thank you for the nice things you said in your post. You’re so nice!! Glad you linked this to our monthly meet up challenge!!
    Laura

  3. Clunk … Kate, that was the sound of my chin hitting the floor … this is STUNNING! That die cut is amazing … and the way you’ve made it dimensional is genius … beautiful, beautiful, beautiful! Anita 🙂

  4. This, my friend is the perfect place for a phrase I use often in card-making… totally “more than words.” Congratulations on your much-deserved win!!!
    =] Michele

  5. Kate, I love this!!! What a great contrast between your flat and curvy rose, and your sculpted and angular background! Such a head-turner! And the tone-on-tone sentiment is a perfect compliment to it all. Thanks so much for sharing your beautiful work : )

  6. Popped back to say congratulations on becoming a Fabulous Fashionista at RIC with this stunner, Kate, soooo well deserved! Thanks so much for your lovely warm wishes … I’m still having a fabulous birthday!! Anita 🙂

  7. Wow. I think I am a little late to the party, but Wowwowowowoow…This card is absolutely stunning! Is there a museum of contemporary cards? This should be in it.

Thank you for your comments; they make my day!